Chocolates, Oreos and a Glass of milk!

Hi, Welcome to the first of many blogs from Bek.

I want to share with you my love for cooking, how it came about,  and how easy it is for anyone of us to cook these great recipes. 

Last Saturday the 18th June 2011 was my 12th Birthday and I received many gifts and most had something to do with cooking. I had been given cooking related gifts in the past year and so I have 1 year up my sleeve of developing my skills. Cooking with my Granny on the weekends included things like, meringues, chrissy puddings and shortbread. And also cooking with my dad, muffins, slices, cookies and cakes. And I helped Mum with dinners.

I watch alot of cooking shows including MasterChef Australia 2011, Junior MasterChef, Everday Gourmet  – Cooking with Justine Schofield and My Ktchen Rules So you can see I have alot of chances to learnt new things.

One of the books I was given for my birthday this year by my big sister “Jessie” was called “Whoopie Cakes”. The history of Whoopie Cakes according to my book Whoopie Cakes states it is an ongoing debate between Maine and Boston in the United States, however others are taking the credit too, but they appear to date back to the late 1920’s early 1930’s. Whoopies are fast becoming better than cupcakes in London. Harrods having sold 20,000 in 4 days last year when they started selling them.

So, I am about to make them this popular in Sydney!

The book from Jessie for my 12th Birthday

So, I gather my recipe, write down what we need and off Josh and I head to the local shops to stock up on ingredients. Me with my backpack on and both of us on our skateboards.

My first recipe I am going to share is : – Very Chocolate Whoopies however we found the complete recipe to rich and have not added the ganache. But if you want this recipe please email me and I will forward to you. This recipe although it sounds alot to do, I can tell you that my brother  and I made this recipe easily on a Saturday afternoon.

CAKES

Makes 12

  • 100g plain chocolate

    Chocolate whoopies straight from the oven

  • 115g butter softened
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 lge egg
  • 280g white plain flour
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 2.5tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 225ml milk

METHOD

Preheat over to 190 degrees Celsius or 170 fan forced.

YUMMY - Oreos and a glass of MILK.....

Line 3-4 large baking sheets with baking paper or grease the wells of a Whoopie pan if you have one or you can use a muffin tin and cut muffins in half to get same look. Finally grate the chocolate or put in process in food processor until finally ground. Set aside. Put butter, sugar and vanilla in electric mixer bowl and whisk together until light & fluffy, beat in the egg. Sift flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt into bowl and stir together. Add chocolate & milk and stir until combined. Using a 5cm ice cream scoop or a large tablespoon put measure on to baking sheets with a space of 7cm between each scoop, to allow for spreading.  Or use your pan.

Bake in oven for 10 -12 minutes until firm to touch. Remove and transfer to wire wrack and leave till cool.

FILLING

  • 3 Oreo cookies
  • 55g butter softened
  • 115g full fat cream cheese
  • 35g icing sugar

METHOD

Put biccys in strong bag and seal to crush cookies with a rolling pin to form fine crumbs. Put butter and cheese in electric mixer, and whisk together until light & fluffy. Stir in icing sugar until smooth but still firm. Fold in Oreo crumbs and use immediately or store in fridge until needed (up to 2-3 days).

When Whoopies are cold match similar size Whoopies and spread or use piping bag to cover with filling and top with other Whoopie.

There you have it – WHOOPIE !!!!!!

Very Chocolate WHOOPIES with Oreo cream centres

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ash
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 03:47:46

    hey babe ill try these out sumtime!!!
    xxxx

    Reply

  2. Liz Ray Pasqualini
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 05:39:33

    Hi Bek, I really like your blog and those whoopie cookies look pretty darn good. Well done Liz x

    Reply

  3. gailleatcreative
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 07:02:41

    Yummy. Well Done! I lool forward to hearing more of your journey! Actually i will probably be living it with you!!! Haha

    Reply

  4. Andrew Smith
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 07:56:33

    Bek, I will expect my woopies to arrive during the week in the mail. I am already looking forward to eating them. They look really good, well done.

    Reply

  5. Kate Carpenter
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 11:11:12

    this is great bek!

    Reply

  6. Trish Noosa
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 20:11:45

    Great blog, Bek. I am definitely going to make these. They look and sound delicious.

    Reply

  7. kellie
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 08:12:19

    You’re HOW old?! Seriously, you put some of the old-timers to shame – clear, chatty writing and recipes. Good job and good luck with the blog from an American food blogger who lives in Scotland!

    Reply

  8. Justin bieber
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 04:46:38

    These look amazing Bek!!!
    I’m want them
    In my belly 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

