FROM THE OCEAN TO THE STARS

It’s Chef Bex back with another great recipe and also some handy tips and other stuff I want to share with you.

My sister decided to become a Vegetarian about 6 years ago and so we all had to suffer. Until last year we have eaten mainly chicken and fish, don’t get me wrong – this was OK, but now we get to eat red meat again…I have missed it!

My family love to fish and my dad, uncle and grandad go fishing each year (if they can) in Tasmania to a place called Arthurs Lake where my Uncle Andy & Aunty Lisa have a house. (I am going to let you know that my Mum & Dad are helping me with this post with names of places etc). My family mainly Flyfish for Trout but the Lakes are filled with Salmon aswell.

The Lakes System In Tasmania with my Grandad and his boat

This picture is of my Grandad looking at the Lake and thinking about all the fish he is going to catch.

My Sister with her catch when we were Ice Fishing

This picture is of my big sister Jessie – who was the first to make a catch when we went Ice Fishing in CanmoreAlbertaCanada in 2009.

This was my first overseas holiday and I loved it. We spent 3 weeks visiting family & friends in Victoria – BC – Canada, Christmas in Lake Louise (which my mum’s middle name is after – or she says the Lake is named after her!!!). Then we went skiing in Silver Star and then picked up an RV and drove down to Disneyland.

So, back to “from the ocean to the stars”, what am I on about? Well, the ocean is the salmon dinner I cooked and the stars is the star anise sauce that went with it….I cooked this meal twice. Once for my mum, dad, sister and brother and me. We all loved it! Second time for my granny and grandad. My granny thought is was “too complicated for her” and my grandad thought the star anise sauce was the best part. But either way – I liked cooking it and will cook it again.

SALMON

Dukkah on salmon

  • 4-6 skinless salmon pieces
  • 45g dukkah

METHOD

Rub dukkah over top of salmon , cover and put in fridge till ready to cook. When ready all that is required is to steam fish. It is best in a asian steamer, but it works just as well in a vegetable steamer.

TOMATO CHUTNEY

  • 4 x vine ripened tomatoes (seeds removed and roughly chopped)
  • 2 x small pickling onions (finely chopped)
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1 tbs tarragon vinegar (again my mum did not find this so we put some dried tarragon in vinegar and let rest overnight)
  • 1 x cinnamon quill
  • 4 x cloves
  • 125 water
  • pinch of salt to taste

METHOD

Place all ingredients in medium saucepan over high heat. Bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer stirring occasionally for up to 20 minutes till thickened. I would double this as it is yummy and only just fed 5 people.

Making Star Anise Sauce

STAR ANISE SAUCE

  • 2 x star anise
  • 250ml pouring cream
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 sprig rosemary
  • 2 tbs plain flour

METHOD

Place star anise and 100ml in saucepan over high heat and boil for 5 minutes, this will infuse the water. Remove star anise and add cream, lemon juice rosemary and flour to infused water. Whisk continuously over medium-high heat for 2 minutes or until mixture boils and thickens. remove from heat. ( I added 4 x star anise for the sauce the second time round as I thought the first was too plain, it tasted much better with 4, but you could try 3).

VEGETABLES

  • 60ml olive oil
  • 1 x leek (white part only – sliced)
  • 1 x carrot (cut into 1cm slices)
  • 2 x celery stalks (cut into 1cm slices)
  • 4 x vine leaves (if you can find them – I didn’t so did not use)

Heat oil in large frying pan over medium heat, add leek, carrot & celery and cook stirring for 5 minutes or until tender.

My dinner from the ocean to the stars

To put the dish together you need to place the vegetables down on the plate, top with a piece of salmon, I drizzled star anise sauce around the outside and a dollop of chutney on the side….

Recipe from Junior MasterChef x

I hope you enjoy this post and look forward to my next post which will be one for all of you that like sweets!

BEX

❤ BEX

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gailleatcreative
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 02:14:05

    It was delicious Bexster

    Reply

  2. Gerald Englebretsen
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 07:58:54

    Hi there Bex,

    That came up a treat. Thanks for the Tassie mention. Our clever intercepter thingy initially hid your post from view, but I retrieved it from the ‘hide bin’.

    A very tasty recipe and yes, Tasmanian salmon – we definitely are very lucky downunder with how common both salmon steaks and great cured sliced salmon is and easy to obtain year round.

    Wish you all the best for your future cook ups! And welcome back to Meatville.

    Best regards
    Gerald Englebretsen
    DiscoverTasmania Web Team

    Reply

    • bexkitchen
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 23:51:03

      Thanks Discover Tassie – I cant wait to come back to you soon. My Uncle was actually married there a few years ago and you will never guess what I wore? Ugh boots…..hahha

      Reply

  3. kellie @ foodtoglow
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:53:51

    That looks and sounds fantastic. I can almost smell its heavenly scent here in Scotland. You’ve got one lucky family. We eat fish about three times a week, usually something Vietnamese, so this has a similar vibe. Well done and great photos.

    Reply

  4. Phuoc'n Delicious
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 13:48:12

    Hi Bex! Thanks for dropping by my blog. Just would like to say keep up with the cooking passion and all the best! 🙂

    Reply

    • bexkitchen
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 23:09:32

      Thank you so much for coming to visit me too. I look forward to reading more of your blogs and maybe next time be able to come to the blogging party.
      Love Bex

      Reply

  5. Trackback: I want a Bombe Alaska, do you??? | BEX KITCHEN
  6. Trackback: Have you ever been left HOME ALONE? | BEX KITCHEN

Leave a Reply

Archives

