What do you get when you add pineapple + coconut + frangipanis?

= HAWAII

I cannot wait to have some frangipani's in my hair

Hi – its Gaille – Bex Mum…..I have kidnapped her blog as she is so busy with school. She is in grade 6 her last year of primary school and she will be leaving the school to go to a different high school even though her current school does go on to year 12.

So I am letting her have some fun and enjoying having some friends over etc etc. Whilst she has maintained her constant hijacking of my kitchen she has not had a moment spare to write her blog. I hope that I can keep up with what she has done so far….

So my title???? Well, in February I entered a competition on the radio station I listen to call 101.7 WSFM – it’s my station!!!!! The competition was to go in for a chance to win a trip to Hawaii….All you had to do was tell what your disaster honeymoon was….

I thought mine took the cake – really I did! We married in April 1993 and I waited and waited for my honeymoon, only to be taken on a Plumbing Conference in June where I shared my romantic time with over 200 other plumbers….We did have a great time and we met some great plumbers….BUT romance —-nah it just didn’t work for me..

The DJ’s Jono and Dano loved my story and obviously felt very sorry for me cause I WON! Part of the prize was to renew our vows….I am so excited and of course cannot go and do something so magnificent without taking the family…which for some reason over the past few months has expanded….YEP thats right. We now have over 22 guests coming to help with the festivities…

Magic !!!

The day will start with the renewal of our vows on the beach of Waikiki out the front of our hotel  The Outrigger “Reef on the Beach” at 8am…And then we will step inside The Shorebird for our Wedding Breakfast…

Our Wedding Breakfast Venue

Visit Aloha DownUnder for some great tips especially for Aussi’s travelling to this magic place.

So with this amazing vacation looming upon us, Bex made this cake based on some mystery ingredients suggested to her from my Goddaughter Laura – whom I see not often enough. She challenged Bex to make something with Pineapple + Coconut + Cream Cheese.

Bex Kitchen Hawaiian Cheesecake

Hawaiian Cheesecake

1.1/3 cup plain crackers
1/4 cup butter or margarine
2 tbs plain sugar
FILLING
1 cup plain sugar
230g cream cheese, softened
4 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 cup flaked coconut
500g can crushed pineapple in juice, well drained
TOPPING
1/2 cup toasted flaked coconut
1 tsp grated orange peel
DIRECTIONS
Preheat over to 160 Celsius (not fan forced) may differ on each oven. So keep your eye on it. Adjust to suit your oven.

Stir all crust ingredients in small bowl. Press mixture on bottom of 9 inch spring form pan. A little oil on your fingers helps keep crust from sticking to your fingers. Bake for 10 minutes allow to cool.

Combine 1 cup sugar and cream cheese in large mixer bowl. Beat at medium speed, until creamy . Continue beating, adding eggs one at a time and beating well after each addition. Add sour cream, 1 cup coconut and drained pineapple. Continue beating, until well mixed.

Spoon cream cheese mixture into prepared crust. Bake for 70 to 90 minutes or until set 2-inches from edge of pan. Sprinkle top with 1/4 cup toasted coconut. Turn off oven and leave cheesecake in oven 2 hours.

Loosen sides of cheesecake from pan by running knife around inside of pan.

Cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.

Sprinkle with remaining toasted coconut.

I hope I have enlightened you just a bit on what we have going on.

ENJOY the cake ❤ Bex and Gaille

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Orange Bee
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 12:04:37

    How great! Hawaii is fabulous but then again you do live in a pretty fabulous place – or so I’ve heard. This sounds like a yummy cheesecake – Bex keep up the good work. Have a wonderful time in Hawaii!

    Reply

  2. Robynne Yeates.
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 20:06:06

    The cheesecake looks very yummy Bek,,,,,,was it ????? Nanna

    Reply

  3. Robynne Yeates.
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 20:08:58

    Wish I could cook like you!!!!!! Nanna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

